Light Therapy Works

I asked my daughter if she was still having suicidal thoughts after using the light therapy box for 10 days now, and she said no.  Hallelujah!

I’m doing better at not taking things personally.  There was an incident where my middle schooler criticized what she got for St. Nicholas day this week, and I took offense to it, and reprimanded her for bad manners.  She felt very guilty for upsetting me, which didn’t feel right to me.

Soon after, I remembered what The Four Agreements book had to say about not taking things personally.  I realized she obviously expected more than what she got, and in that sense it is her issue to resolve, and really had nothing to do with me.

I apologized for taking her response to the gift personally and told her it was not her fault I got offended. I could see the weight lift from her shoulders and the relief on her face.

She said she was sorry, too, and that she was just expecting multiple items because that is what she got in past years. 

I know we both felt so much better after talking this out.  I think coming to terms with reality is so important in taking responsibility for the way you feel.  Likewise, leaving others to suffer in their own fight against the acceptance of the way things are is the first step towards not taking anything they do or say to you personally.

I’ve been filled.with anxiety trying to get some Christmas projects done, therefore haven’t been sleeping enough and falling behind on chores. Doesn’t seem to be slowing down anytime soon. Need to think this through and make a plan to consciously stop going, going, going.  I’ll get mentally sick if I don’t. 

I’ve been gaining some weight- four pounds in the last 7 weeks.  So, I started counting calories, increasing protein and decreasing sugar. We’ll see how it goes.

You're invited to share your thoughts

