Tired of Anxiety

hours-of-sleep-857957_640

I am tired.  Anxiety does that to me.  I was awake at 4am this morning thinking about a meeting I have to go to later today that I am anxious about.  It has me anxious because one, I have to leave the house; two, I don’t know where this place is, I’ve never been there before, and three, I have to meet new people.

I told myself I was being stupid, then I caught myself.  Since I now have a no tolerance policy for negative self-judgements, I immediately stopped the “I’m being stupid” thought and replaced it with, “I am not stupid.  The anxiety is simply a part of my disorder and I can’t help it.”  It is just a fact of my life.  No use making big drama over it.  Geez!  Get over myself, Jessica!  Acknowledge it and move on.

Move on to what though?  The anxiety is so damn uncomfortable and nagging!

Distractions.  That’s what I usually do is distract myself.  So, I’ve spent all morning on creative projects such as photography and baking.  I am trying not to stress eat all three dozen chocolate chip cookies I made.  It is really hard.  😉

How’s your day going?

6 thoughts on “Tired of Anxiety

  1. It’s good that you are talking yourself out of these situations before they get bad. Find someone or some place where you can express these worries regularly… else you might burn out. Stay strong 🙂 you are doing good.

    Like

  2. I have the same anxieties- having to leave my house, going places I’ve never been, and having to be in a room with a bunch of people I don’t know. I haven’t slept in 2 days because of anxiety. I do the reverse negative thought tool as well. It’s just the anxiety talking. It’s not who you are. Ironically I’ve literally written a post where I say “Jesus you’re not important Sarah! Get over yourself.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you’ve gotten some sleep by now, Sarah! Anxiety is the worse. But it’s real and sometimes out of our control so we can’t be too hard on ourselves. Thanks for your comment. I hope you are well.

      Liked by 1 person

You're invited to share your thoughts

